Marvin O. Schlanger  to Receive 2012 Petrochemical Heritage Award

Marvin O. Schlanger

March 22, 2012 - Philadelphia and San Antonio

Marvin O. Schlanger, chairman of the Supervisory Board of LyondellBasell Industries N.V., will receive the 16th annual Petrochemical Heritage Award on April 2, 2012, at the Grand Hyatt in San Antonio, Texas.  The award will be presented at the 2012 International Petrochemical Conference hosted by American Fuel and Petrochemical Manufacturers (AFPM).

“A leader in every aspect of the industry, Marvin Schlanger has created success across the petrochemical enterprise,” said Thomas R. Tritton, president and CEO of CHF. “He has held executive leadership roles in management, finance, mergers and acquisition, and corporate strategy.”

About Marvin O. Schlanger

Marvin O. Schlanger is chairman of the supervisory board of LyondellBasell Industries N.V., a $50 billion global chemical producer, and is chairman of the board of CEVA Group Plc, a $9.6 billion international logistics supplier. He is a principal in the firm of Cherry Hill Chemical Investments, LLC, which provides management services and capital to the chemical and allied industries.

Schlanger began his career with Mobil and joined ARCO Chemical Company in 1975. He became chief financial officer and a member of the board of directors in 1989, chief operating officer in 1994, and was appointed president and CEO in 1998. ARCO Chemical was subsequently sold to Lyondell.

From 2000 to 2005, in conjunction with Apollo Management, Schlanger led the component acquisitions and management of the Resolution companies, which grew to a global enterprise of over $2 billion in annual revenue. These companies were merged with Borden Chemical and Bakelite AG to form Hexion in May 2005 and are now part of Momentive Specialty Chemicals Inc.

Mr. Schlanger also serves on the boards of UGI Corporation, UGI Utilities, Amerigas Partners LP, and Momentive Specialty Chemicals Holdings LLC.

A native of Newark, New Jersey, Mr. Schlanger received a chemical engineering degree from Rutgers University and holds an M.S. in chemical engineering from the University of Massachusetts.

About the Petrochemical Heritage Award

CHF and the Founders Club established the Petrochemical Heritage Award in 1997 to recognize individuals who made outstanding contributions to the petrochemical community; to inspire achievement; and to promote public understanding of the modern sciences, industries, and economies.

Past recipients of the award: Raj L. Gupta, former chairman and CEO of Rohm and Haas Company; Hiromasa Yonekura, chairman of the Sumitomo Chemical Company; Mohamed Al-Mady, vice chairman and CEO of the Saudi Basic Industries Corporation (SABIC); Peter R. Huntsman, president and CEO of the Huntsman Company; Dave C. Swalm, founder of Texas Petrochemicals Company; Dan L. Duncan, chairman, Enterprise Products partners; J. Virgil Waggoner, former president and CEO of Sterling Chemicals; Ting Tsung ("T. T.") Chao, founder of the Westlake Chemical Corporation; William A. McMinn, Jr., former president of Cain Chemical; Harold A. Sorgenti, former president and chief executive officer of ARCO Chemical Company; Herbert D. “Ted” Doan, former chairman and CEO of the Dow Chemical Company; Jon M. Huntsman, founder of Huntsman Corporation; Gordon Cain, well-known chemical engineer and business entrepreneur; John T. Files, founder and chairman of the Merichem Company; John R. Hall, chemical engineer and former president, chairman, and CEO of Ashland; and Ralph Landau, cofounder of Halcon/Scientific Design Group.

About the Founders Club

The Founders Club was founded in 1981 by a group of petrochemical industry executives who participated in the establishment of the Petrochemical Committee of the NPRA and ultimately generated the International Petrochemicals Conference (IPC) as a separate identity within NPRA. The Founders Club today is a select group of individuals with a minimum of 25 years of distinguished service in the petrochemical industry. The club proudly advances the legacy inherited from these original "Founders" as contributing stewards of the petrochemical industry with a respect for the past (legacy), activities for the present (networking), and support for the future (recognition).

About American Fuel and Petrochemical Manufacturers

AFPM is a trade association representing high-tech American manufacturers of virtually the entire U.S. supply of gasoline, diesel, jet fuel, other fuels and home heating oil, as well as the petrochemicals used as building blocks for thousands of vital products in daily life.

About the Chemical Heritage Foundation

The Chemical Heritage Foundation (CHF) fosters an understanding of chemistry’s impact on society. An independent nonprofit organization, we strive to
• Inspire a passion for chemistry;
• Highlight chemistry’s role in meeting current social challenges; and
• Preserve the story of chemistry and its technologies and industries across centuries.
CHF maintains major collections of instruments, fine art, photographs, papers, and books. We host conferences and lectures, support research, offer fellowships, and produce educational materials. Our museum and public programs explore subjects ranging from alchemy to nanotechnology.

Need Meeting Space?

CHF’s state-of-the-art conference center is in Philadelphia’s beautiful historic district.

Upcoming Events

Meet us in person at one of our events.


Distillations Podcast logo
Listen to the latest episodes of CHF’s award-winning podcast.