Chemistry’s Contributors

Creative chemistry occurs all around the world and its progress is due to contributions from the full spectrum of the world’s peoples. Traditional histories of science may have emphasized individuals who are mostly male and largely of Western origin, but the full story calls for a broader and more inclusive narrative.

CHF’s Women in Chemistry initiative shines a light on the contributions of women to our collective enterprise. Through the creation of robust oral histories we tell the stories of female scientists, engineers, and entrepreneurs, while at the same time inspiring younger women to follow a similar path. Later this spring we will also be unveiling an immersive video component, so stay tuned for more.

March is Women’s History Month in the U.S. and International Women’s Month in the U.K., so it seems the perfect time to call attention to women in science. And since March is also the kickoff to the season of awards that CHF stewards, we are proud to note that three of this year’s luminaries are women:

  • Marye Anne Fox, distinguished professor of chemistry and the seventh chancellor at the University of California, San Diego, is the winner of the 2012 Othmer Gold Medal
  • Elizabeth Blackburn, Morris Herzstein Professor of Biology and Physiology in the department of biochemistry and biophysics at the University of California, San Francisco, and 2009 Nobel Prize winner, is the winner of the 2012 AIC Gold Medal
  • Nancy Chang, Co-Founder, CEO, and Chairman, Tanox, a pioneer in the creation of humanized antibodies to treat allergic diseases, is the winner of the 2012 Biotechnology Heritage Award

Hearty congratulations to each for their good work and inspirational lives.

Tom Tritton is President and CEO of CHF.

Women in Chemistry [CHF Oral Histories]
Women’s Business: 17th-Century Female Pharmacists [Chemical Heritage]
Episode 117: Women’s History Month [Distillations]

Posted In: Technology

comments powered by Disqus

By posting your comment, you agree to abide by CHF’s Comment Policies.