Petrochemical Heritage Award

James Gallogly

James Gallogly

2015 Winner: James Gallogly

James Gallogly, retired chief executive officer of LyondellBasell, one of the world’s largest plastics, chemicals, and refining companies, will receive the 19th annual Petrochemical Heritage Award on March 30, 2015, at the Grand Hyatt in San Antonio, Texas.

The award will be presented at the 2015 International Petrochemical Conference hosted by the American Fuel and Petrochemical Manufacturers (AFPM).

About James Gallogly

Before joining LyondellBasell, Gallogly served as executive vice president of exploration and production for Conoco Phillips. He was named to that position in 2008 after serving as executive vice president of refining, marketing, and transportation for Conoco Phillips since 2006. Gallogly joined Chevron Phillips Chemical as president and chief executive officer in 2000. Previously, he served Phillips Petroleum Company as senior vice president of chemicals and plastics, vice president of olefins and polyolefins, and vice president for North American production. Gallogly joined Phillips in 1980 and held various roles in the areas of exploration and production, legal, and finance in the early portion of his career, including international assignments.

Gallogly serves as vice chairman of the board of the American Chemistry Council. He is also a member of the University of Oklahoma College of Engineering Board of Visitors, the University of Colorado Engineering Advisory Council, and the University Cancer Foundation Board of Visitors at the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center. Additionally, Gallogly serves on the board of directors and executive committee at Junior Achievement of Southeast Texas. He is a member of the Colorado, Oklahoma, and Texas bar associations.

Gallogly received a BA degree from the University of Colorado in 1974 and a law degree from the University of Oklahoma in 1977. He completed the Advanced Executive Program at the J. L. Kellogg Graduate School of Management at Northwestern University in 1998.

About the Petrochemical Heritage Award

CHF and the Founders Club established the Petrochemical Heritage Award in 1997 to recognize individuals who made outstanding contributions to the petrochemical community; to inspire achievement; and to promote public understanding of the modern sciences, industries, and economies. 

Past recipients of the award include Marvin Schlanger, chairman of the supervisory board of LyondellBasell Industries; Raj Gupta, former chairman and CEO of Rohm and Haas; Hiromasa Yonekura, chairman of the Sumitomo Chemical Company; Mohamed Al-Mady, vice chairman and CEO of the Saudi Basic Industries Corporation (SABIC); Peter R. Huntsman, president and CEO of the Huntsman Company; Dave C. Swalm, founder of Texas Petrochemicals Company; Dan L. Duncan, chairman, Enterprise Products Partners; J. Virgil Waggoner, former president and CEO of Sterling Chemicals; Ting Tsung (“T. T.”) Chao, founder of the Westlake Chemical Corporation; William A. McMinn, Jr., former president of Cain Chemical; Harold A. Sorgenti, former president and chief executive officer of ARCO Chemical Company; Herbert D. “Ted” Doan, former chairman and CEO of The Dow Chemical Company; Jon M. Huntsman, founder of Huntsman Corporation; Gordon Cain, well-known chemical engineer and business entrepreneur; John T. Files, founder and chairman of the Merichem Company; John R. Hall, chemical engineer and former president, chairman, and CEO of Ashland; and Ralph Landau, cofounder of Halcon/Scientific Design Group.

About the Founders Club

The Founders Club was founded in 1981 by a group of petrochemical-industry executives who participated in the establishment of the Petrochemical Committee of the NPRA and ultimately generated the International Petrochemicals Conference (IPC) as a separate identity within NPRA. The Founders Club today is a select group of individuals with a minimum of 25 years of distinguished service in the petrochemical industry. The club proudly advances the legacy inherited from these original “Founders” as contributing stewards of the petrochemical industry with a respect for the past (legacy), activities for the present (networking), and support for the future (recognition).

About American Fuel and Petrochemical Manufacturers

AFPM is a trade association representing high-tech American manufacturers of virtually the entire U.S. supply of gasoline, diesel, jet fuel, other fuels and home heating oil, as well as the petrochemicals used as building blocks for thousands of vital products in daily life. 

About the Chemical Heritage Foundation

The Chemical Heritage Foundation (CHF) is a collections-based nonprofit organization that preserves the history and heritage of chemistry, chemical engineering, and related sciences and technologies. The collections are used to create a body of original scholarship that illuminates chemistry’s role in shaping society. In bridging science with the humanities, arts, and social sciences, CHF is committed to building a vibrant, international community of scholars; creating a rich source of traditional and emerging media; expanding the reach of our museum; and engaging the broader society through inventive public events

Special Thanks

Generous support for the March 29, 2015, dinner in honor of James Gallogly has been provided by the following sponsors:

Past Winners

See the past recipients of the Petrochemical Heritage Award.

Hear It Firsthand

CHF’s Center for Oral History captures and preserves the stories of notable figures in chemistry and related fields. Many of the oral histories in the collection belong to recipients of CHF awards, including


Support CHF

Help us preserve and share the history of chemistry and related sciences. Make a tax-deductible donation online.