AIC Gold Medal

Chad Mirkin

Chad Mirkin.

2016 Medalist: Chad A. Mirkin

Chad A. Mirkin, director of the International Institute for Nanotechnology and George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry, Northwestern University, received the 2016 AIC Gold Medal on Heritage Day on May 16, 2016.

About Chad Mirkin

Chad A. Mirkin is the director of the International Institute for Nanotechnology and the Center for Nanofabrication and Molecular Self-Assembly and the George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry at Northwestern University, where he is also a professor of chemical and biological engineering, biomedical engineering, materials science and engineering, and medicine. A world-renowned nanoscience expert, Mirkin is known for his discovery and development of spherical nucleic acids (SNAs) and SNA-based biodetection and therapeutic schemes; the invention of dip-pen nanolithography (recognized by National Geographic as one of the top 100 scientific discoveries that changed the world) and related cantilever-free nanopatterning methodologies; on-wire lithography; coaxial lithography; and contributions to supramolecular chemistry and nanoparticle synthesis. Mirkin has also founded multiple companies, including Nanosphere, AuraSense, and Exicure, that are commercializing nanotechnology applications in the life sciences and biomedicine.

Mirkin is the author of over 630 manuscripts and over 960 patent applications worldwide (262 issued), and has been recognized for his accomplishments with more than 100 national and international awards, including the 2009 $500,000 Lemelson-MIT Prize.

He is a member of the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (Obama administration) and one of very few scientists to be elected to all three U.S. National Academies. He is also a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the National Academy of Inventors, and the Materials Research Society. Mirkin has served on the editorial advisory boards of over 20 scholarly journals and is currently an associate editor of the Journal of the American Chemical Society. He is the founding editor of the journal Small, one of the premier international nanotechnology journals, and he has coedited several best-selling books.

Mirkin holds a BS degree from Dickinson College and a PhD in chemistry from Pennsylvania State University. Before joining the Northwestern faculty he was a National Science Foundation postdoctoral fellow at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. 

About the AIC Gold Medal

First awarded by the American Institute of Chemists (AIC) in 1926, and jointly awarded with CHF since 2003, the Gold Medal is the AIC’s highest award. It recognizes service to the science of chemistry and to the profession of chemist or chemical engineer in the United States. Previous winners include Nobel laureates as well as other renowned researchers and engineers representing many facets of the world of chemistry. Medalists include Alfred Bader, Arnold O. Beckman, Paul Berg, Elizabeth Blackburn, Herbert C. Brown, F. Albert Cotton, Carl Djerassi, Walter Gilbert, Harry B. Gray, Ralph F. Hirschmann, Roald Hoffmann, Robert L. McNeil Jr., Glenn T. Seaborg, Oliver Smithies, Max Tishler, and George M. Whitesides.

About the American Institute of Chemists (AIC)

The AIC is a professional organization dedicated to fostering the advancement of the chemical profession in the United States.

Past Medalists

Learn more about the past winners of the AIC Gold Medal.

Hear It Firsthand

CHF’s Center for Oral History captures and preserves the stories of notable figures in chemistry and related fields. Many of the oral histories in the collection belong to recipients of CHF awards, including


Support CHF

Help us preserve and share the history of chemistry and related sciences. Make a tax-deductible tax-deductible gift online.