Heritage Day Awards

Ronald C. D. Breslow, Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw, and Atsushi Horiba. Photo by Sofia Negron.

Heritage Day is an annual celebration of the achievements and promise of the sciences and technologies that shape material culture. This year, on May 15, 2014, CHF honored the accomplishments of three distinguished leaders: 

Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw received the Othmer Gold Medal for her extraordinary entrepreneurship in pioneering the Indian biotechnology industry, for her commitment to bringing affordable drugs to all parts of the world, and for her efforts to raise the level of civic-mindedness in India. Her award received media coverage from Asian Scientist and BioSpectrum.

Ronald C. D. Breslow accepted the American Institute of Chemists Gold Medal for his important work developing and synthesizing novel molecules and for his contributions to chemistry through his role as a teacher and mentor.

Atsushi Horiba received the Richard J. Bolte Sr. Award for Supporting Industries for his commitment to developing innovative analytical and measurement systems that play essential support roles for a broad range of industries critical to a modern society. 

Follow the links below to learn more about CHF's prestigious Heritage Day awards and the remarkable people who receive them.


Hear It Firsthand

CHF’s Center for Oral History captures and preserves the stories of notable figures in chemistry and related fields. Many of the oral histories in the collection belong to recipients of CHF awards, including


Support CHF

Help us preserve and share the history of chemistry and related sciences. Make a tax-deductible donation online.