SCI Gordon E. Moore Medal

Jerzy Klosin

2013 Medalist: Jerzy Klosin

The Society of Chemical Industry (SCI), America Section, will award the 10th annual SCI Gordon E. Moore Medal to Jerzy Klosin, research fellow, The Dow Chemical Company, at a luncheon in his honor during Innovation Day 2013. The luncheon, which will be held September 17 at the Chemical Heritage Foundation (CHF) headquarters in Philadelphia, is a joint event hosted by SCI and CHF, which gathers more than 150 leading researchers from industrial laboratories to discuss current trends and issues in chemical research.

Klosin is being recognized for his outstanding contributions to the advancement of industrial chemistry in the discovery, scale-up, and commercialization of a new generation of catalysts used in the production of a wide range of important polyolefins, including ELITE, AFFINITY, ENGAGE, INFUSE, and NORDEL.      

Klosin’s catalysts deliver great control of co-monomer incorporation and termination reactions, thus enabling the creation of wholly new polymer architectures. The resulting “designer polyolefins” can be tailored to help streamline processes and enhance sustainability by significantly improving the energy efficiency of production. Klosin is the third scientist from Dow to receive the Gordon E. Moore Medal since its inception 10 years ago.

Klosin holds 22 U.S. patents related to his areas of research. Respected throughout the industry for his thought leadership, Klosin has authored more than 40 papers that have been published in peer-reviewed journals and has presented more than 25 invited lectures. He holds an M.S. from Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan, Poland, and a Ph.D. in organic chemistry from the University of Florida in Gainesville.

Past SCI Gordon E. Moore Medalists:

  • Dean Rende (2012)
  • Doron Levin (2011)
  • Emmett Crawford (2010)
  • Emma Parmee (2009)
  • Edmund M. Carnahan (2008)
  • Paul A. Sagel (2007)
  • Jonathan M. McConnachie (2006)
  • Jeffrey John Hale (2005)
  • George Barclay (2004)

About the SCI Gordon E. Moore Medal

The Society of Chemical Industry (SCI) has established the SCI Gordon E. Moore Medal to recognize early-career success in innovation, as reflected both in market impact and improvement to quality of life. By highlighting extraordinary individuals and their work, SCI aims to promote public understanding of research and development in modern chemical industries, enhance the interest of students in applied chemistry by providing role models, and emphasize the role of creative research in the global economy. For more information, see SCI Gordon E. Moore Medal on the SCI Web site.

The Society of Chemical Industry, America Section, is a CHF Affiliate.

Sensing Change

See your environment with fresh eyes through this online exhibit.

Upcoming Events

Meet us in person at one of these events:

Hear It Firsthand

CHF’s Center for Oral History captures and preserves the stories of notable figures in chemistry and related fields. Many of the oral histories in the collection belong to winners of CHF’s awards, including

  • Arnold Beckman, winner of the Othmer Gold Medal (2000)
  • Robert Allington, winner of the Pittcon Heritage Award (2005)
  • Carl Djerassi, winner of the Othmer Gold Medal (2000), the AIC Gold Medal (2004), and the Ullyot Public Affairs Lecturer (1995)
  • Gordon Cain, winner of the Petrochemical Heritage Award (1997)

Listen to their extraordinary stories today!


Support CHF

Help us preserve and share the history of chemistry and related sciences. Make a tax-deductible donation online.