2010 T. T. Chao Symposium on Innovation

The Chao Symposium on Innovation took place on October 11, 2010, in the Shell Auditorium at Rice University’s Jones Graduate School of Business.

CHF’s annual T. T. Chao Symposium celebrates and encourages innovation in the Houston area. The 2010 Chao Symposium—which kicked off the Week of Nano at Rice University—brought together those whose work earned researchers Robert F. Curl, Jr., Harold W. Kroto, and Richard E. Smalley the 1996 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

The symposium was composed of two sessions:

  • Nobel Session
    Curl and Kroto joined James Heath and Sean O’Brien, who were graduate students at the time of the carbon60 discovery, in a forum moderated by CHF president and CEO Thomas R. Tritton.

  • Carbon Nanotechnology I
    This session highlighted the expansion of carbon-fullerene structures into applications that are transforming materials science today. Papers will be presented by Phaedon Avouris, Mildred Dresselhaus, Andreas Hirsch, and Donald Huffman.

See Tom Tritton’s blog post, “Bucky Celebration,” for reflections on the 2010 Chao Symposium.


Support CHF

Help us preserve and share the history of chemistry and related sciences. Make a tax-deductible tax-deductible gift online.